Making a Difference

The 1901 Society is an influential group of alumni and friends who through their generosity and expertise honor Brooklyn Law School’s past by helping shape its future. Members serve as an important philanthropic and special advisory group for the School and together help ensure the Law School’s renowned stature in legal education.

Leading the School
Members of the 1901 Society are invited to our biannual Leading the School events, which solicit input from members on current opportunities and challenges facing Brooklyn Law School. Through these planning sessions, members work together to share insights and problem-solve for the Law School in partnership with the Dean. Members are also invited to other exclusive programs, including social gatherings with visiting dignitaries and professional lectures and symposia.

innovation jobs affordability image

How You Join
If you are not a member already, join by making a contribution of $5,000 or more annually, or $1,000 or more annually for recent graduates (within the last 10 years). To make your gift, simply click on GIVE HERE! or contact Brooklyn Law School’s Development Office at (718) 780-7505 or at

Dean Nicholas W. Allard
Francis J. Aquila '83
Michael A. Asaro '98
Jodi Levine Avergun '87
Evan B. Azriliant '92
David Michael Barse '87
David Adam Berger '89
Sam Bernsen '49
Joel H. Bernstein '75
Dennis J. Block '67
Jeffrey A. Block '87
Neil Brody '74
John Paul Browne '75
Gabrielle S. Brussel '92
Nicholas J. Camera '72
Ms. Belle Chameides
Mr. Steven B Chameides
Irwin B. Cohen '58
Frederick Cohen '67
Harriet Newman Cohen '74
Charles S. Cohen '77
Prof. Joseph Crea '47
Daniel P. Cronin '72
Mr. Frank C. Dal Lago, Sr.
Stephen J. Dannhauser '75
Brian T. Davis '77
Mrs. Dorothy Dicker
Mrs. Tami Director
Steven S. Elbaum '74
Irwin Engelman '61
Bruce E. Fader '74
Jeffrey J. Feil '73
Jay R. Fialkoff '76
Howard S. Finkelstein '59
Martin A. Fischer '64
Michael Andrew Fischer '92
Valerie Fitch '88
Edmond T. FitzGerald '91
Jeffrey D. Forchelli '69
Susan K. Foster '87
Maxine Frank '80
Andrew T. Frankel '90
Solomon J. Freedman '52
J. Michael Fried '75
Eric M. Friedberg '83
Mr. Samuel Frieder
Frances M. Friedman '39
Prof. Michael A. Gerber
Michael O. Gittelsohn '66
Jack Glaser '60
Neil S. Goldstein '67
Susan A. Greenberg-Thrope '81
Michael D. Grohman '83
Stanley M. Grossman '67
Allen J. Grubman '67
Wilfred J. Halpern '68
Noah J. Hanft '76
Scott L. Hazan '73
Howard S. Hershenhorn '89
Debra Gail Humphreys '84
Hon. Reed Hundt
Jane A. Kanter '73
Stacy J. Kanter '84
Sharon Katz '81
Robert M. Kaufman '57
Caleb D. Koeppel '81
Kenneth A. Kopelman '84
Eric M. Kornblau '84
Paul J. Korngold '76
Mr. Steven H. Kram
Linda H. Lamel '76
Warren T. Lazarow '86
Ms. Barbi Lazarow
Michael P. Levy '94
J. Richard MacMurray '62
Sayward Mazur '64
Catherine M. McGrath '84
Jacqueline McMickens '88
Mrs. Cheryl Metrick
Martin Minkowitz '63
David K. Mitnick '00
Mr. Anton Nader
Bernard Nash '66
Kenneth P. Nolan '77
James D. O'Donnell '88
John P. Oswald '84
Jonathan M. Plasse '76
Irwin B. Polinsky '57
Gary O. Ravert '00
Amy C. Reich '88
Deborah E. Riegel '93
Geraldo Rivera '69
Michael Romanoff '58
Gary M. Rosenberg '74
Marian Probst Rosner '73
Howard J. Rothman '71
Barry Salzberg '77
Marvin I. Sameth '50
Eugene R. Scheiman '69
Robert T. Schmidt '89
Mr. Kenneth Sciara
Jeffrey T. Scott '96
Charles W. Segal '74
Kenneth L. Shapiro '61
Gerald L. Shargel '69
Douglas Sharrott '94
Jeffrey S. Sherman '80
Larry A. Silverstein '55
Joseph H. Smolinsky '88
Brian S. Sokoloff '86
Roy M. Sparber '69
Samuel P. Sporn '53
Howard H. Stein '67
Richard Stern '79
Florence Subin '75
Stuart Subotnick '68
Lawrence A. Sucharow '75
Barry S. Taus '89
Theodore E. Tsekerides '93
Timothy W. Ulrich '74
Laurence Urgenson '75
David J. Woll '87
Dr. Jerome Zwanger

Associate Members
Daniel B. Besikof '04
Kathleen M. Chastaine '06
Allie A. Cheatham '05
Sean Edward Comerford '12
Lawrence S. Elbaum '05
Ashley Elizabeth Fisher '09
Tamar Batya Kaplan-Marans '09
Tyler J. Korff '12
Saima Majid '05
Jennifer L. Marines '05
Timothy D. Oberweger '05
Mr. Stephen Bryan Popernik '13
Scott B. Selinger '06
Kevin Zuzolo '08

Give Here

Click here to make a gift online.

Have questions?  We have answers.

Jean Smith  
Director of Development
Brooklyn Law School
250 Joralemon Street
Brooklyn, NY 11201
Tel: (718) 780-0638
Fax: (718) 643-4726

1901 Society Brochure
Brooklyn Rising Annual Report

Upcoming Events

April 7, 2014
1901 Society Premiere: Shakespeare and the Law
Members are invited to this exclusive and highly interactive event at the newly constructed Theatre for a New Audience in Brooklyn.

September 18, 2014
Leading the School: Addressing Jobs and Law School Affordability in the New World of Law
Members are invited to this interactive planning session to discuss innovative strategies for increasing students’ job prospects and addressing affordability.